200-piso New Design Series Banknote

nds 200


Diosdado Macapagal  known for his land reform and social-economic agenda; he moved the celebration of Philippine Independence from 4 July  to 12 June; at the lower right corner is Aguinaldo’s home in Cavite, now called Independence House, where the  Philippine Independence in 12 June 1898 was declared


EDSA II  with Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo being sworn in as the President of the Philippines as a result of EDSA  People Power II




The first 200-piso note denomination appeared in  the English series, but was excluded in  the Pilipino and ABL Series. In 2002, it was reintroduced to bridge the gap between 500-piso and 100-piso and to commemorate the Philippine independence when General Emilio Aguinaldo declared independence from Spanish colonial rule on 12 June 1898 at the Aguinaldo Shrine in Kawit, Cavite and, in the process, made our country Asia’s first republic. Diosdado Macapagal was responsible for the restoration of the celebration of Philippine Independence from  4 July 1946 (Independence from American Rule) to 12 June 1898. Macapagal is also known for his land reform and socio-economic agenda that started the process of economic liberalization and the shift to a market economy in the Philippines.

The reverse features a scene from EDSA II, with Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, Macapagal's daughter, being sworn in as president by Chief Justice Hilario Davide Jr. on January 2001. The little girl holding a Bible in between Arroyo and Davide is Cecilia Paz Razon Abad, daughter of Philippine Budget and Management Secretary Florencio Abad and Batanes Representative Henedina Razon-Abad.