Feedback Corner

Publications and Research

Media Releases

The BSP and the DepED Sponsor the 2008 Annual Oratorical Contest for NCR


In observance of the 19th National Statistics Month (NSM) this October 2008, the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) together with the Department of Education (DepED) will jointly sponsor the Annual Oratorical Contest for the National Capital Region (NCR) on 28 October 2008, 1:00 p.m. at the BSP Assembly Hall.

This year’s oratorical contest will focus on the theme “Demand-driven Statistics: Key to Micro, Small and Medium Enterprise (MSME) Development.”  The objectives of this activity are: 1) to promote and enhance nationwide awareness and appreciation of the importance and value of statistics to the different sectors of society; and 2) to elicit the cooperation and support of the public in upgrading the quality and standards of statistics in the country.

Since 1996, the contest has served as an avenue to promote awareness of statistics among public and private high school students.  Senior high school contestants deliver oratorical pieces highlighting the importance of statistics by applying this to the specific theme for the annual NSM.

In 2007, the oratorical pieces were delivered in Filipino with the NSM theme “Estadistika at Karampatang Pagkilos: Daan Tungo sa Higit na Magandang Buhay sa Pamamagitan ng mga Layuning Pang-Kaunlaran sa Milenyo.”   Mr. Andrew Mark M. Asuncion of the Gregorio Perfecto High School bagged the top place.  The second place went to Ms. Karen Leslie D. Dematera of Marikina High School, while the third placer was Mr. Leandro Glen G. Lorenzo of Makati High School.

This year, there will be 15 finalists, representing 14 divisions and one regional science high school in the NCR, that will be participating in this year’s oratorical contest. Competing this year are the following schools: Commonwealth High School, Kalayaan National High School, La Consolacion College – Pasig, Las Piñas North National High School, Makati Science High School, Manila Science High School, Marikina Science High School, Muntinlupa Science High School, Navotas National High School, Parañaque Science High School, Pasay City West High School, San Felipe Neri Parochial School, Taguig Science High School, Valenzuela Science High School and Quezon City Science High School.

A cash prize of P20,000 will be awarded to the first place winner, while the second and third place winners will receive P15,000 and P10,000, respectively. Trainers of the winners will get ¼ of the total cash prize of the winners.  Trophies will also be awarded to the three winners and their schools.

RSS Subscribe for updates