Feedback Corner

Publications and Research

Media Releases

BSP and DepED Sponsor the 3rd National Oratorical Contest


In celebration of the 21st National Statistics Month (NSM) this October 2010, the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) together with the Department of Education (DepED), will jointly sponsor the Annual Oratorical Contest on 29 October 2010, 1:00 p.m. at the BSP Assembly Hall. This affair is made even more eventful as it coincides with the closing ceremony of the NSM.

This year’s oratorical contest, the third done on a nationwide basis, will focus on the theme “Towards a Philippine Statistical System Responsive to Emerging National and Global Challenges.”   The objectives of this activity are: 1) to promote, enhance and instill nationwide awareness and appreciation of the importance and value of statistics to the different sectors of society, and 2) to elicit the cooperation and support of the public in upgrading the quality and standards of statistics in the country.

 Since 1996, the contest has served as an avenue to promote awareness of statistics among public and private high school students.  Senior high school contestants deliver oratorical pieces highlighting the importance of statistics by applying this to the specific theme for the annual NSM. It is expected that this year’s contest will be as challenging as the previous ones, with the finalists, who come from different regions across the country, exhibiting the same vigor and heart, excellence in speech and articulation, clarity and objectivity in discussing the use of statistics.

This year, ten (10) finalists will participate in the oratorical contest, representing the islands of Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao. The contenders will come from the following schools: Lagro High School (National Capital Region), Urdaneta City National High School (Region I), Cagayan National High School (Region II), Bernardo Lirio National High School (Region IV-A), San Miguel National High School (Region IV-B), Rafael B. Lacson Memorial High School (Region VI), Saint Louis School of Mandaue (Region VII), Zamboanga Del Sur National High School (Region IX), Koronadal National Comprehensive High School (Region XII) and CARAGA Regional Science High School (CARAGA Region).

A cash prize of P50,000 will be awarded to the first place winner, while the second and third place winners will receive P40,000 and P30,000, respectively. Trainers of the winners will receive cash prizes equivalent to 25 percent of the prizes of the winners.  Trophies will also be awarded to the three winners and their respective schools.

RSS Subscribe for updates