Feedback Corner

Publications and Research

Media Releases

BSP and DepEd Award Best Finance Teachers in Elementary Schools



BSP and DepEd Award Best Finance Teachers in Elementary Schools

The 2013 GURO ng PAG-ASA winners (from bottom left) Agueda Pal-iwen of Lucban Elementary School in Baguio City; Jeanette Bagtas of Caba Elementary School in La Union; Mae Pangantihon of Santa Barbara Central Elementary School in Iloilo; and Rowena de la Peña of Sumilihon Central Elementary School in Butuan City were recognized in a ceremony led by, from top left: Monetary Board Member (MBM) Armando Suratos; Members of the Board of Judges Dr. Wilma Reyes of the Philippine Normal University, Dr. Marilette Almayda of the DepEd and Former Education Secretary Dr. Fe Hidalgo as chair; BSP Governor Amando M. Tetangco, Jr.; MBM Peter Favila; and MBM Alfredo Antonio.


The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas and the Department of Education announced the winners of the 2013 GURO ng PAG-ASA (Gantimpala para sa Ulirang PagtutuRO sa PAG-iimpok at Araling PanSAlapi).

Guro ng Pagasa is a rewards program for the best teachers who have taught and integrated lessons in savings, money management and basic entrepreneurship in the elementary curriculum.

The goal of the program is to help children develop the habit of saving regularly. Lessons on saving, money management and entrepreneurship have been incorporated in the elementary school curriculum through three entry subjects:

Araling Panlipunan (Social Studies),
Edukasyon sa Pag-papakatao (Values Education), and
Edukasyong Pangtahanan at Pangkabuhayan (Work Education).

This year’s winners were chosen for their exceptional teaching and moral dedication in choosing financial education as their life’s advocacy. 

The 2013 Winners are:

Ms. Mae E. Pangantihon of Santa Barbara Central Elementary School, Iloilo for Edukasyon sa Pagpapakatao,

Ms. Agueda A. Pal-iwen of Lucban Elementary School, Baguio City for Araling Panlipunan,

and for the second year in a row we have a tie for Edukasyon sa Pagpapakatao as follows:

Ms. Jeanette Z. Bagtas of Caba Elementary School, La Union and

Ms. Rowen de la Peña of Sumilihon Central Elementary School, Butuan City.

The 2013 Guro ng Pagasa: “Every Child a Saver, Every teacher a Partner.”

RSS Subscribe for updates