Feedback Corner

Publications and Research

Media Releases

BSP and DepEd Host the 20th BSP-DepEd Annual Oratorical Contest, Siquijor Provincial Science High School Senior Bags First Place


The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP), in collaboration with the Department of Education (DepEd), held the 20th BSP-DepEd Annual Oratorical Contest (4th at the National Level) among Grade-10 students on 28 October 2015, at the BSP Assembly Hall. Ten finalists comprising the five finalists from Luzon, two from the Visayas and three from the Mindanao island clusters competed in this year’s finals. The finalists showcased their oratorical pieces and delivery skills (in English) that highlighted the importance of statistics related to this year’s NSM theme, “Pagyamanin at Gamitin ang Estadistika, Kalusugan para sa Lahat ay Abot-Kamay Na.”

Of the ten finalists, Brian Stefan R. Mack, from Siquijor Provincial Science High School in Siquijor, topped this year’s event. Trained by Ms. Sheila B. Degrano, Brian was awarded a cash prize of P50,000 and trophy by Bangko Sentral Governor Amando M. Tetangco, Jr. and DepEd Bureau of Secondary Education Director Jocelyn DR Andaya.

 Jeremiah F. Feliciano from San Jose National High School in Antipolo placed second while Izzadorah T. Cagas from Bayugan National Comprehensive High School bagged the third place. Seven contestants representing the other contestants from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao participated in this year’s oratorical contest. The other 7 finalists were: (1) Panta Lucrecia C. Binalangbang  from Sta. Cruz National High School — Davao del Norte;  (2) Rafael L. Lazatin Memorial High School — Pampanga; (3) Heavenly D. Legaspino from Digos City National High School — Davao del Sur; (4) Regina Mei O. Pagtalunan from City of Mandaluyong Science High School; (5) Ijanver Z. Realo from Gallanosa National High  School — Sorsogon; (6) Miguel B. Velasquez from Mangatarem National High  School — Pangasinan; and  (7) Irish Selene A. Yongque from Palo National High   School — Leyte.

This is the 1st time Siquijor Provincial Science High School bagged the top oratorical prize since the BSP-DepEd Oratorical Contest was organized in 1996, with past national winners coming from Manila, Surigao del Sur and Quezon City.

Since 1996, the contest served to instill awareness and appreciation of the significance of statistics to the different sectors of society.  It has also encouraged the public to support activities aimed at upgrading the quality and standards of statistics in the country. The event served as the culminating activity of the 26th National Statistics Month.

RSS Subscribe for updates