Feedback Corner

Publications and Research

Media Releases

BSP Hosts the 2016 BSP-UP Professorial Chair Lectures


The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP), in partnership with the University of the Philippines System, hosted the 2016 BSP-UP Professorial Chair Lectures, on 25-26 October 2016 at the Executive Business Center, BSP Head Office, Malate, Manila.

The BSP established the BSP Sterling Chairs in 2006 and upgraded the existing chairs to BSP-UP Centennial Professorial Chairs in 2008 to continuously support the research, teaching, training and other programs of the University of the Philippines System. The Professorial Chair Lectures provided the opportunity for chairholders to present their research, and for the participants to discuss important issues in economics, statistics, business administration, finance, accounting, agriculture and other related fields as part of the collaboration between the BSP and the academe.

For this occasion, BSP Monetary Board Member Felipe M. Medalla delivered the welcome address.


     BSP Hosts the 2016 BSP-UP Professorial Chair Lectures
From left to right: Dr. Roberto S. Mariano (University of Pennsylvania), Assistant Governor Ma. Ramona Gertrudes D.T. Santiago (BSP-Head of Treasury Department and Executive Management Services Coordinator), BSP Monetary Board Member Felipe M. Medalla, Dean Ben Paul B. Gutierrez of UP Cesar E.A. Virata School of Business, Deputy Governor Diwa C. Guinigundo (BSP-Monetary Stability Sector), Executive Director II Enrique C. Domingo (BSP-Resource Management Sector) and Managing Director Francisco. G. Dakila, Jr, (BSP-Monetary Policy Sub-Sector)

Eight lectures were delivered for this two-day event.  The first day covered lectures by Dr. Jeffry J. Tejada (credit risk), Dr. Helena Agnes S. Valderrama (regulation of public pension funds),  Dr. Dennis S. Mapa (poverty statistics), and Dr. Ma. Joy V. Abrenica (competition mechanisms in the banking industry).  The discussants for the papers were Dr. Roberto S. Mariano from the University of Pennsylvania, Dr. Sarah Lynne S. Daway of the UP School of Economics, and  Dr. Stella A. Quimbo of the Philippine Competition Commission. 


The lectures on the second day focused on the work of Dr. Arthur S. Cayanan (effect of private placements on minority stockholders), Dr. Maria Socorro Gochoco-Bautista (global liquidity and financial vulnerability), Dr. Arthur S. Cayanan (financial reporting practices of government-owned and controlled corporations), and Dr. Erik Paolo S. Capistrano (Big Data analytics in the banking sector). The papers were evaluated and discussed by Ms. Evelyn R. Singson of the Shareholders Association of the Philippines, Dr.  Johnny Noe E. Ravalo of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, Atty. Jimmy B. Sarona of the Home Guaranty Corporation, and Mr. Melchor T. Plabasan of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas.

Dr. Jose V. Abueva, Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Public Administration at the University of the Philippines, was the luncheon speaker for the second day.

The lectures were attended by invited participants from the academe, government agencies, and private and international institutions as well as BSP officials and staff.

RSS Subscribe for updates