Feedback Corner

Publications and Research

Media Releases

Paeng Awards 2017 and Microfinance Community Testimonial Cocktails for Gov. Amando M. Tetangco, Jr.


 Paeng Awards 2017

Recipients of the 2017 Paeng Awards pose with the Board of Judges from the RBB Foundation
L –R: Fr. Rev. Fr. Jose Victor E. Lobrigo (Simbag sa Pag-asenso, Inc.), Mr. Angelo Solarte (Taytay sa Kauswagan, Inc.), Gov. Amando M. Tetangco, Jr., Mr. Antonino L. Alindogan, Jr., (RBB Foundation), Mr. Rolando B. Victoria (Alalay sa Kaunlaran, Inc.) and Mr. Deogracias N. Vistan (RBB Foundation)

Paeng Awards 2017

The RBB Foundation presents to Gov. Tetangco as a memento a framed picture of him with his predecessor and mentor, the late Gov. Rafeal Buenaventura
L –R: Roberto L. Panlilio (Treasurer), Mr. Antonino L. Alindogan, Jr., (Trustee), Leonilo G. Coronel (Trustee), Gov. Amando M. Tetangco, Jr., Fmr. Prime Minister Cesar E.A. Virata (Trustee) and Mr. Deogracias N. Vistan (Trustee)

On 21 June 2017, the microfinance community gathered for the Paeng Awards and to honor the distinguished achievements and valuable support of Governor Amando M. Tetangco, Jr. for microfinance in the country.

The Paeng Awards, formally known as the Rafael B. Buenaventura Awards for Microfinance Institutions, was launched in 2013 by the Rafael B. Buenaventura Micro Finance Resource Center Foundation (RBB Foundation) in partnership with the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas.   The award is a tribute to the legacy of the late BSP Governor Rafael “Paeng” Buenaventura who believed in the power of microfinance and strongly advocated for its mainstreaming in the financial system. The foundation bearing his name continues this advocacy as it provides microfinance institutions the tools, knowledge and technology to stay responsive to the changes in the market and the rapidly evolving demands of their clients.

The Paeng Awards are given in recognition of the notable inroads made by microfinance institutions into improving client service, outreach, and institutional efficiencies through innovative programs.  For 2017, the citation awards were given to Taytay sa Kauswagan, Inc. (TSKI) and Simbag sa Pag-asenso, Inc., for achievement in disaster risk reduction management programs, and to Alalay sa Kaunlaran, Inc. (ASKI) for achievement in financial education.

Following the awarding ceremony, the microfinance community led by the RBB Foundation, Microfinance Council of the Philippines, and the APPEND Network gave its tribute to Governor Tetangco for his outstanding contribution to the microfinance sector. Under his leadership throughout the last 12 years, BSP supported the growth of the microfinance sector and promoted financial inclusion through enabling policies and pioneering advocacy work which have garnered for the BSP and the country international recognitions. 

On 3 July 2017, Governor Tetangco will turn over the BSP leadership to Deputy Governor Nestor A. Espenilla, Jr. who has proven himself a staunch advocate of financial inclusion. 

RSS Subscribe for updates