Feedback Corner

Publications and Research

Media Releases

BSP and DepEd Host the 23rd Annual Oratorical Contest, Tinajeros National High School Senior Wins First Place


The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP), in collaboration with the Department of Education (DepEd), held the 23rd BSP-DepEd Annual Oratorical Contest, the culminating activity of the 29th National Statistics Month, last 29 October 2018 at the BSP Assembly Hall. Sixteen Grade 10 students, representing the 16 NCR divisions and DepEd recognized public or private schools, showcased their oratorical skills and mastery of the Filipino language as they shared their insights on the importance of statistics in developing integrated and balanced tourism policies in line with the theme, “Exploring Philippine Wonders in Numbers: Statistics Towards Sustainable Tourism Development (Pagtuklas ng Ganda ng Pilipinas sa Pamamagitan ng Numero: Estadistika Para sa Likas-Kayang Pag-unlad ng Turismo).”

Of the sixteen finalists, Rogene Graciella R. Sadian from Tinajeros National High School in Malabon topped this year’s competition. Trained by Ms. Nova V. Tarcena, Rogene was awarded a cash prize of P25,000 and a trophy by BSP Deputy Governor Diwa C. Guinigundo and Dr. Jocelyn Andaya from DepEd.

Mykaela Xandra D. Gapultos from Nagpayong High School in Pasig placed second, while Mark Jester O. Ordanza from Muntinlupa Business High School (Main) bagged the third place.

Thirteen other contestants participated in this year’s oratorical contest, namely: (1) Kenshin C. Dalosa from CAA National High School (Main) – Las Piñas; (2) Ronaldo Miguel C. Manlapig from Makati Science High School – Makati; (3) Kier Jemuel V. Leya from Mandaluyong High School – Mandaluyong; (4) Julia Eron L. Sales from Ramon Magsaysay High School – Manila; (5) Ma. Roanne L. Tuma-ob from Concepcion Integrated School Secondary Level – Marikina; (6) Patrick Anthony V. Baldago from Camarin High School – Caloocan; (7) Deowin A. Bagkus from Navotas National Science High School – Navotas; (8) Gerald F. Estorninos from Paranaque National High School – Paranaque; (9) Lessyl G. Monteo from Pasay City National Science High School – Pasay; (10) Adrian T. Ayala from Batasan Hills National High School – Quezon City; (11) Leo Emmanuel F. Salen from San Juan National High School – San Juan; (12) Mark Andrei T. Mallillin from Taguig Science High School – Taguig; and, (13) John Erick D.L. Roque from Canumay West National High School – Valenzuela.

This is the 3rd time that Tinajeros National High School bagged the top oratorical prize since the BSP-DepEd Oratorical Contest began in 1996.

For more than two decades, the oratorical contest has been a platform for initiating discussions and appreciating the crucial role of statistics in our country’s development.

RSS Subscribe for updates