Monetary Board Members



Monetary Board Member

Monetary Board Member Anita Linda R. Aquino’s formidable career in banking and finance spans three decades of work in the Philippines and abroad. Prior to her appointment to the Monetary Board, she served on the board of the Philippine Deposit Insurance Corporation. She was also a Board Adviser to the United Coconut Planters Bank (UCPB), a Government Financial Institution. Her service in the Public Sector includes a stint as the Chief of Staff to the Secretary of Finance of the Republic of the Philippines.

Her professional portfolio in the Private Sector, specifically Banking, includes assignments in treasury and financial markets in Manila, New York, and Singapore. She was Head of Corporate Sales and Structuring at Citibank, Manila; Regional Trading Business Manager for Asia at the Singapore-based Citicorp Investment Bank Limited; Senior Vice President and Head of the Global Distribution and Advisory Division at Rizal Commercial Banking Corporation; and Executive Director, Head of Financial Markets Sales (Philippines) at Standard Chartered Bank. She also worked at the Charles A. Dana Foundation in New York.

Ms. Aquino experienced firsthand the turbulence wrought by economic crises during her decades-long career in the banking sector. Having worked in financial markets during the Asian Financial Crisis of 1997 and the Global Financial Crisis of 2008 provides her with invaluable perspective as the Monetary Board formulates responses to the COVID-19 pandemic.

A Bachelor of Arts in Economics graduate from the Ateneo de Manila University, Ms. Aquino earned her Masters in Economics from Fordham University in New York, USA. She also completed a special program in Accounting and Finance at Marymount Manhattan College, New York, where she was inducted into the Curian Honor Society.

Ms. Aquino was sworn into office as member of the Monetary Board on July 30, 2020. Ms. Aquino is the first female banker to be appointed by the President in the Monetary Board of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (since 1993) and in the history of Philippine Central Banking (since 1949). It has been a decade since a woman was last appointed to the Monetary Board. There are seven members of the Monetary Board and she is currently the youngest sitting member.